Like a Teenager

My skin has been doing some very odd stuff over the past several months. I’ve basically been breaking out like a teenager. Okay, maybe not that bad, but my skin’s been worse than it’s ever been.

Turns out, a lot of women experience this same issue in their 30’s and 40’s. It’s usually attributed to hormones, but mine check out fine. It can also be caused by diet and I’ll admit that mine hasn’t been all that great lately. And it could be my makeup and skin care routine in general. The upshot is that I was not pleased and needed to figure this out quickly so I started conducting some studies, doing some research, etc.

Makeup

I rarely wear makeup on the weekends. I like to give my skin a chance to breathe a bit. I started noticing that by Sunday night my skin would start to clear up. Then by Wednesday it was a mess again. Ah ha! Makeup, you nasty jerk.

Then I went online and found out that Bare Escentuals was recently bought out and the new folks reformulated the makeup. Apparently a lot of women, who have been using this stuff for years just like me, are starting to have issues with it.

So I kept digging and found this stuff called Korres. I recently picked some up at Sephora and it’s working great! I, of course, love the fact that the ingredients list is pretty clean. What I love even more is that my skin seems to like it, too, and is close to back to normal. It’s pretty much exactly like Bare Escentuals except that I find I have to wear a tad more and that the colors are not a one-for-one. I’ve also found that it feels lighter on my skin and stays in place throughout the day better.

Skin Care

I’ve also changed my skin care routine a bit. I still use the Mychelle line, but I’ve added a few things to my routine:

  1. When I notice a zit forming, I put some tea tree oil on it morning and night until the sucker is gone. It’s has great anti-bacterial properties and is dramatically reducing the length of a break-out, if not stopping it entirely. I’ve also started using this as a preventative measure in areas that seem to have a chronic issue and it’s helping.
  2. I started using Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay a couple of times a week. It cleans out my pores really well and makes my skin super soft. You can also find this stuff at most health foods stores also.
  3. I’ve also started using a mask to help exfoliate and promote skin cell renewal. This is the one I use and it’s awesome! It doesn’t take much, so that jar should last for quite some time.
  4. I’ve also been more committed lately to using the Oil Cleansing Method. It seems like such an odd thing to do, but my skin is so soft, bright, and hydrated afterwards. I do this about three times a week.

Anyway, if you’re having skin issues like I’ve been having I hope some of this works for you also!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

