Sentiment & Compliment

yupSo, by now you guys know that I’m a sentimental sap. I really should add “sentimental sap” to my tag cloud, to be honest.

And by now you also know that I believe people deserve to hear good things about themselves and I’m always happy to be the one to tell them, right?

Well, I realized something else the other day…there’s a way to combine these two things – compliment giving and sentimentality. It seems like it might be hard, but I suppose it’s just a matter of expanding the definition of a compliment.

Take, for example, a piece of pottery I’ve had since I was about 17. My friend Jenny made it for me in pottery class in high school. It’s sort of mottled grey and beige with dark flecks and a blue bird painted on the inside. That bowl has been displayed in my home since the day she gave it to me.

When I moved into my new place, I had to be choosy about what to bring considering I have minimal space. This bowl made the cut. My guess is that Jenny has, perhaps, forgotten about the bowl. If not, I doubt she would think that I still have it or display it. But I do. I love it and the memory it evokes. I remember when she gave it to me (a spring day right before my dad and I held a baseball practice for my little brother at North Boulder Park) and I still have the card that came with it in a chest full of similar things.

Now, I know Jenny reads this blog, which makes me very happy! So, Jenny Friend, 19 years later your beautiful bowl still has a place in my home. Thank you so much for such a wonderful keepsake!

And right there I’ve combined sentiment and compliment, yes?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Jenny

     /  April 2, 2013

    Thank you. You have no idea how much that means to me… and now I’m crying here at work…sheesh! Now we really do need to get together to share our sappy memories :) I had forgotten about the bowl and I don’t remember what it looks like, but I remember giving it to you.

    Reply
    • You are so welcome! I love that bowl. It’s held many things over the years, but mostly it’s been empty so I can see the bird. And yes, we DEFINITELY need to get together soon.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

