People in My Life – Elizabeth

{This post is part of a new series I’m doing. Click here to read about Aimee.}

I’ve worked with Elizabeth for about four years now. I wasn’t quite sure what to think of her when she first started. She seemed so shy and soft spoken and, dare I say, bland – like I could bulldoze her.

Then she came with a group of us to a farm to table dinner and something started to click, but I wasn’t quite sold yet…

And then she came to a CD release party with us a little bit later. As she saddled up to the bar to order a drink I was sure she was going to say something lame like, “wine spritzer, please”. Instead she ordered a Dewer’s and soda. It was in that moment that I thought, “Well, there’s certainly more to her than meets the eye, yes?”

Elizabeth is a consummate lady – she has impeccable manners. She’s always dressed perfectly for every situation – I’ve never seen her looking like crap. She’s polite, discrete, thoughtful, sincere, and a wonderful conversationalist. I’ve been asked in the past to describe her in a word and that word is deliberate, which I find endearing. She’s the type of person you can take ANYWHERE with you and you know she’ll fit right in and make those around her feel comfortable, which is a helluva skill and a wonderful trait.

But she also has grit and it’s that grit that makes me really love her. For example, it makes me immeasurably happy when she cusses. It’s not something she does often, but when she does! Ooh! It just makes my day. And she’s not someone to be bulldozed like I originally thought, which makes me love her even more. I appreciate people who will tell you what they will and won’t stand for and then stick to it. She’s also one of the most loyal, supportive friends I have. She has a great way of inquiring about your life and listening to what you have to say with no outward judgement.

Elizabeth and I are sort of like the Odd Couple.  I’m loud and I curse and I move quickly and I speak my mind (almost to a fault) – Elizabeth is my opposite. Perhaps that’s why we get along so well, we balance each other out.

There have been many blessings that have come my way in the eight months since the ex-manfriend and I broke-up and having more time to spend with Elizabeth has been one of them. She’s definitely someone I want to put on a cracker and take home.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

