Injuring Yourself on Purpose

I’ve started doing something odd. I’ve started using something called a Derma Roller.

Basically, it’s this little thing that looks like a rolling pin on a handle. The rolling pin is covered in tiny, but quite sharp, needles. You take this sucker and roll it all over your face with the express purpose of damaging your skin. No, I’ve not lost my mind.

The whole idea is that by damaging your skin you kick-start the healing process – a process that includes bring more collagen to the area. Collagen equals  a more youthful appearance by giving the skin more elasticity, less wrinkles, and so on.

According to this site, the Derma Roller can help with:

  • Stretch Mark Removal and Stretch Mark Treatment
  • Acne Scar Removal
  • Anti Wrinkle Treatment / Anti Aging
  • Hair Loss Treatment or Hair Restoration
  • Surgical Scar Removal

This whole concept makes sense to me because of the Prolo therapy I’ve undergone for my injuries from my accidents. It sounds odd, but sometimes injury and the resulting healing that comes from it can be very powerful and rejuvenating. Whoa. That was profound, huh? (Har.)

What I know is this – I’ve been using the Derma Roller for over a month now, on a somewhat regular basis, and I definitely see results. So far, the dark spots I was starting to get on my cheeks have gotten lighter, my skin tone has evened out, and I have a glow and softness to my skin that I’ve not had in a long time. But I’ll not lie – it’s not without some pain. My first time using this was pretty uncomfortable, but I’ve gotten used to it and it hardly bothers me now. All in all, the discomfort is worth the benefits I’m seeing.

I purchased a Derma Roller here (a great site for info on this process and it’s benefits), but you can find them a lot cheaper on Amazon.com. I’ll head that route when the one I have gets dull and needs to be replaced. Please let me know if you try this out and how it goes for you!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Aimee

     /  April 16, 2013

    I hear a story for the Daily Camera. Can I talk to you for a fashion column? Bring it to bar and let me see it?

    Reply
  2. mkesling63

     /  April 16, 2013

    It does work. I am going back to laser to finish my issue here. It is pricey to do laser through.

    Reply
    • Yeah, I’m trying to find cheaper alternatives to some of the more major stuff :)

      Reply
      • mkesling63

         /  April 16, 2013

        You are lucky in time. I have to spend more becasue of a catch up need here. But the joy of it all when you do have time! I envy you the time.

      • Yes, it’s true. I have time in several ways. I started paying attention to this stuff younger than most and I have a bunch of free time right now to use on my self!

  3. Okay I finally got one of these bad boys and it does feel a bit sadistic to use it on myself. So tell me two months after your post are you still using it and seeing any benefits?

    Reply
    • I’m definitely still using it and I definitely see results! The dark spots on my cheeks have lightened considerably and my skin has an overall glow. And I’m not the only one seeing these results as several people have commented. Plus I have a male friend using a Derma Roller also and I can totally see the lines in his forehead diminishing. Keep it up and report back!

      Reply
  4. Thank you for every other wonderful post. The place else
    could anyone get that type of info in such an ideal way of
    writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such information.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    My mother is an encyclopedia of useless information (sorry, ma, but it's true) - no one can beat her at Trivial Pursuit. As I age, I become more like dear old mom everyday. I routinely tell people about resources, recipes, tips, tricks, or websites I've heard about, tried, live by, etc. until one of my clients urged me to start a blog. So here it is! My perpetual ramblings. I hope you find them useful and amusing. If you don't, you can either keep it to yourself or leave me a well constructed critique.

    I'm a former massage therapist, a freelance journalist, and a web information architect and UX designer. I enjoy yoga, the Bar Method, camping, reading, gardening, and spending time with my friends and loved ones. I live in Colorado.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,096 other followers

  • Infrequent tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • I pin!

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Archive

  • Tag Cloud

  • Top Posts

