Come on, guys…you can do it, too!

There is an event at Bar Method studios across the country that is somewhat rare. That rare event is men coming to class. I’ve only ever seen it twice in 14 months, which is such a bummer. I am told, however, that there are several men who frequent my location during the morning classes. But I’ll be honest, doing the craziness that is The Bar Method at 5:45 a.m. sounds like pure torture and I’m not that masochistic.

I don’t know how the perception that this class is just for women started, but it couldn’t be more wrong. Yes, there’s a ballet barre. So what? Men do ballet. Have you looked at those men? They’re RIPPED. They’re also surrounded by women. Women in tight clothing. Same thing happens at The Bar Method.

I don’t know how the perception that this class is easy started with regard to men. (Perhaps it’s not an actual perception, but let’s pretend it is so I can make my point, ‘kay?) But it’s so far from easy it’s not funny. Of the two men I’ve seen in class, both were shaking their heads in disbelief, sweating, and wide-eyed by the end of class. One, a very fit guy who clearly works out a lot, rolled over when it was all done, looked me in the eye and said, “Whoa. That’s no joke, huh?”

If for no other reason, just come and try it to see what all the buzz is about. A lot of us ladies make this the workout we chose to do on a daily basis. Maybe you guys just need to slide it in there amongst the other things you do as a cross-training kind of thing? I don’t know. But what I do know is that you should check out this article (specifically the video at the top) and let a couple of men, one of whom is an Ironman triathlete, tell you what a killer workout it is.

See you in class, right? Right!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. There are a several men who regularly work out at the studio I go to in West L.A., and they know it’s no joke!

    Reply
    • Good for them! I don’t know why we don’t have more men at the Boulder studio. Maybe all of us hot ladies scare them off ;-)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

