Ditch the Magazines!

I’ve recently stopped reading magazines and thumbing through catalogs.

Well, I ditched the catalog habit when I moved last summer. But the magazine thing is new. It started because I just didn’t seem to have the time to look through them. Spending time with friends and family, watching every Friends episode start to finish (I own all of them, suckers!), reading, sleeping, etc. felt more important. And then I became out of the habit of reading them – they just didn’t appeal to me anymore.

I recently recycled a stack of probably 30 unread magazines. I offered them to a few people who declined, so out they went. Not reading magazines, which are just glossy pages of advertisements anyway (even the articles are advertising something anymore), has enriched my life in so many ways:

  • I want less and am spending less money on stuff I’ve seen that I just HAVE to have
  • I feel less deprived, like not having the latest stuff isn’t such a sad thing in life
  • I feel better about my body since I’m not comparing it to super models or reading about how I can drop 10 pounds in three days or how this new cream will banish cellulite

So, instead of whiling away the hot hours with a magazine this weekend, I encourage you to find something else to do. I promise you’ll feel better for it!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Yes! I’ve never been a big fan of magazines, but Ben and I recently subscribed to Los Angeles magazine, which I love because we learn stuff about the city, restaurants, etc. But other than that, pfffft to magazines.

    Reply
    • Well, if that magazine has beneficial content, that’s one thing. Elle, Glamour, O, blah, blah, blag – pfffft to those!

      Reply
  2. I went to a resort recently with my sister, and she handed me a magazine as we were lounging by the pool. After ten minutes of reading all the useful things my body will no longer do once I’m 40 (which is rapidly approaching), I handed it right back. Who needs depression on vacation?

    Reply
    • Yeah, there’s very little value to any of them anymore. They just make people feel bad whether they realize it or not!

      Reply
  3. Ma

     /  June 13, 2013

    Adios Vanity Fair!

    Reply
    • As in you’re not renewing it? Or not sending it my way? They do have some good articles, but those are surrounded by exactly what I’m talking about, sadly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

