Homemade V8 Juice

So, I’ve been back on the juice wagon as of late. I started making smoothies again at home at the beginning of the year and that’s been great, but I really started craving fresh juice about a month ago.

If you remember, the ex-manfriend and I went on a juice kick last year after watching Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead. He kept the juicer when I moved out, but I recently bought it off him (better on the wallet to buy one used, after all).

If you’re not sure what the difference is between juice and smoothies, it comes down to this:

  • For juice you use a juicer that separates the juice from the mass of the fruit or vegetable leaving you with something waterier.
  • With a smoothie, you use a high-powered blender like a Vitamix to blend up the entire mass of the fruits and vegetables leaving you with something heartier and more full of fiber.

Both have their pros and cons:

  • With smoothies you get all of the fiber of the fruits and vegetable and you end up having to use less produce (plus that blender is much easier to clean). However, all of that fiber can be a bit hard on the system to digest.
  • With juice you get a straight shot of nutrient rich juice that is very easy on the digestive track to absorb and assimilate. But, you’re missing the fiber and you go through a lot more produce (and that juicer can be a pain to clean).

Ideally, my plan is to consume one juice and one smoothie a day so I’m getting the benefits of each.

My recent favorite juice recipe was found here, but it’s a but hard to read, so…

Original V8 Juice

Run the following through a juicer:

  • 4 tomatoes
  • 4 green onions
  • 1/2 green pepper
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • handful of cilantro
  • handful of parsley
  • 2 lemons

I also added some ginger, salt, and cayenne pepper to zest it up a bit.

The first thing I noticed was the color. The vibrant red mess you buy in the store is not what came out of my juicer. So, that just tells me that commercial crap from the store is full of artificial coloring. Yuck.

Next, I’ll admit that I was a little nervous to take my first sip. But this stuff is GOOD! Several coworkers tried it and liked it as well. We even joked that combining this with vodka would make the perfect Bloody Mary. If you have a juicer, you should definitely give this a try!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

