Finding What Works for Me

So, I’ve talked about my car accidents quite a bit on here. Maybe not in the detail some of you would like, but I’m not in a position to do that just yet for various reasons beyond my control.

After my first accident I wasn’t able to workout like I had previously and I found that immensely frustrating. Working out is my stress relief. It’s one of the few things I do in my life where I’m totally present and fully engaged. That I felt that had been taken from me angered and saddened me. The truth of the matter is that my body will never be the same again. The workouts I did pre-accident are likely workouts I won’t ever be able to do again.

Then I found The Bar Method and it works for me because of so many variables. Bar is hard, but not in a way that compromises my body and that’s because of the foundations of Bar and the modifications I can take to keep my body stable and healthy even during a tough workout.

Bar is rooted in the Lotte Burke Method. A method that has a solid foundation in rehabilitation and a focus on working the muscles without compromising the joints.

As for the modifications, the teachers at my studio (and studios across the nation) are great at working with students to modify specific exercises to suit an individual’s needs. I regularly have to do push-ups, the arm series, flat-back, and ab work in a modified way so that my neck is not compromised. In fact, every time I’m at Bar, which is a lot, I have to modify something.

The great part is that the modifications help keep my body safe and happy but don’t take away from the benefits of the workout. The other great part is that my need to modify things doesn’t effect anyone else in class like it did in the workouts I used to do. In previous group exercise scenarios, my need to modify slowed everyone else down and changed the dynamic of the group. This isn’t the case at Bar.

I can’t tell you how happy I am to have found a workout that my body can handle – a workout that’s beneficial in so many ways, a workout that actually works, and a workout that doesn’t deteriorate or deplete my body.

So, if you’ve got some aches and pains that have been keeping you from regular workouts, you might consider trying The Bar Method. Tell them I sent you!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. mkesling63

     /  July 12, 2013

    WIth medical technology advance ment you might try another medical evalaution as well to see if you can not cure the physical limitation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

