Who forgets?

Today a lot of people will be talking about September 11, 2001 and how we should never forget. It’s remarkable that people can forget. I know that some do. Time passes, memories fade, things that once seemed so significant no longer do. I get it. It’s part of life. But for me, I can’t forget.

I can’t forget the civilians who died that day in an act of war. I can’t forget the men and women in uniform who gave up their lives trying to help. I can’t forget the families who lost someone. But on a more personal note, I can’t forget for two main reasons:

  1. My little brother who has spent over three (or maybe it’s closer to four – I lost track) of the last 10 years deployed. I am so proud of him, but I worry about him constantly. I can’t wait for the day when he retires and deployments don’t linger on the horizon anymore.
  2. My dear friend who is a vet of the Iraq war and who battles the physical, mental, and emotional ramifications on a daily basis and will continue to do so for the rest of his life. It’s excruciating and frustrating to watch.

It is for these men – their sacrifices (ones that don’t end because their military service has) – and the hundreds of thousands like them that I simply can’t forget.

The ramifications of 9/11 are not over. They’re with us every day. Therefore, who can forget?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

