This is why I workout the way I do

I’ve posted I don’t know how many blogs on why I love the Bar Method so much, but after reading a few articles the other day about CrossFit (the other workout obsession in my area), I’m even more glad I’ve gone this route.

Now, I know that what I’m about to say has it’s controversy and that some of my readers are into CrossFit, so please just try to shake out your hackles and hear me out. There’s a side effect to CrossFit people are starting to talk more about and it something every CrossFitter should know, but likely doesn’t.

CrossFit can seriously damage your body. Seriously. Hell, the founder of it, Greg Glassman, himself says, “It can kill you. I’ve always been completely honest about that.” (Source)

What prompted my research was this recent article. It made me aware of something I’d never heard of (despite having been an athlete and regular gym/workout goer for most of my life). I encourage you to read it, especially if you do CrossFit because it’s a REALLY important thing to know about. However, if you just want the nuts and bolts, here it is: working out to the level CrossFit pushes people to can kill them, literally, because of something called rhabdomyolysis, which is, according to Wikipedia, “a condition in which damaged skeletal muscle tissue breaks down rapidly. Breakdown products of damaged muscle cells are released into the bloodstream; some of these, such as the protein myoglobin, are harmful to the kidneys and may lead to kidney failure.”

I’m not saying that people shouldn’t do CrossFit. I’m saying they should know the causes, signs, and symptoms of rhabdomyolysis and how to prevent it just in case.

How all of this relates to Bar is this: I’m REALLY glad the founder of my workout can’t say, “It can kill  you. I’ve always been completely honest about that.” In fact, in the 18 months I’ve been doing Bar at the Boulder location, I’ve not heard one person complain of getting hurt during a class. I’ve heard people complain about soreness, but never about an injury, let alone hospital time! And in that 18 months, my body has changed in ways that other workouts didn’t produce. Bottom line, you don’t have to damage yourself to get a good, effective workout.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Aimee

     /  October 23, 2013

    Amen! Exercising in such a way that it can leave permanent damage or hurt your body is very short-sighted, and can leave you unfit and unhealthy in the long run. That’s why I don’t run, either. I think it’s great to occasionally run or do a class like CrossFit, but I think making it your daily, regular habit is not intelligent. It’s not hardcore; it’s unwise. And if you’ve ever had to recover from injury, as we both have, you know it’s just not worth it. Especially when there are BETTER workouts out there with little to no risks of injury. Bar continues to be the most effective workout I’ve tried and it is no impact. Why would you risk injury for lesser results?

    Reply
  2. Amen, Annie! <3

    Reply

Leave a Reply

