Confession Thursday

  1. Confession I find myself completely left cold at the notion of idle chit-chat these days. “What do you do for a living? Are you enjoying fall? Hey, aren’t the Broncos kicking ass this year?” Blerg. (And yes, what someone does for a living counts as idle chit-chat as it’s not something, usually, that defines a person.)
  2. Someone asked me the other day if I’m an extrovert or an introvert. I’m most definitely an extrovert, but confession number one is pushing me more towards the introverted tendencies I do have. I love nothing more than spending time with those I know well whereby complex, meaningful conversations take place. Meeting a bunch of new people and having to go through the motions used to energize me. Now it’s just draining. So much so that lately I’ve been avoiding social situations that will require me to hang out with a bunch of people I don’t know.
  3. I just learned about this organization the other day. Basically, they help veterans turn their combat uniforms into paper that can then be used to screen print images, poems, memories, etc. on to. It’s a healing process for many to deconstruct the uniform they wore in combat and turn it into something new. I just think that’s so beautiful. (Though their kickstarter campaign is past, the information found here is great. And if you want to donate, you can do so on their site here.)
  4. I admitted something the other day that I’ve never admitted before because it makes me feel pathetic and lazy. When it comes to school, to formal education, I rock it. When it comes to self-motivating myself to learn outside of that arena, I fall short (with the exception of a few topics).
  5. I’ve come to realize that one long weekend a month is what keeps me sane. It’s not always possible to pull off, but it’s a goal I keep in mind.
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

