Odd, wonderful pancakes

IMG_20131223_184301When I saw the recipe for these, I remember thinking, “Huh. Simple. Definitely odd. Full of protein and things I want to eat. I’m game.”

I can’t remember where I saw this recipe – I didn’t take note because it was easy enough to remember – or I would certainly give credit. So, instead, I’ll post it here.

Banana & Egg Pancakes

Total time: approximately 10 minutes
Servings: 5 dollar-sized pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 banana
  • Spices like cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, ginger, etc. to taste

Steps:

  1. Mash the banana really well
  2. Beat in the eggs and spices until everything is well incorporated and as smooth as you can make it
  3. Use a 1/4 cup measuring cup and scoop some batter onto a greased pan at medium heat (it’s best to do one pancake at a time and place in right in the center of the pan)
  4. Cook on one side for about a minute or so (until the edges are really firm, the bottom is brown, and you can flip it easily)
  5. Flip and cook on the other side for about 15-20 seconds

Weird, right? These taste pretty amazing! Don’t expect doughy and fluffy – it ain’t going to happen. But, these are a great alternative to the original.

P.s. to whomever first came up with this, good work!
P.p.s. man, my food pictures SUCK! Sorry about that.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

