Pulling off a good prank

I don’t really try to pull pranks on people all that often and I’m generally not all that great at it. Although, this long-standing scenario is pretty impressive, I think.

Anyway, as I was headed out of town to visit my brother, I decided to send a funny photo to a friend to try to cheer him up. He’d pulled this sucker on me a few months back, so I knew I couldn’t get this past him, but I knew it would at least get a chuckle.

And then I decided to send the photo to Logan to see if he would buy it.

So, here’s the photo:

IMG_20140405_112155

That’s my tongue acting as my upper lip with my lower lip
all pooched out so I look like I had a bad round of lip injections
.

And here’s the text exchange:

Me: So, I did a dumb thing and got lip injections. Just a heads up… (with photo attached)

Logan: April fools was on the first, Annie. Nice try.

Me: It’s not a joke. You’re so insensitive.

Logan: For reals?

Me: Yeah. I hope they go down at some point here soon. Such a bad, bad idea.

Logan: When did you do this?

Me: A few days ago. I knew I’d be a little swollen, but this is insane. I feel like a f-ing clown.

Logan: Whelps, I don’t know what to say.

Me: See you soon and you can kick my butt for being so dumb.

Logan: Will do…

As all of this is transpiring, I’m laughing hard enough to draw attention in the airport. I almost caved immediately, but decided to try to convince him just to see what I could get away with.

As he exits the car when he picks me up, he says, “You don’t look all that ba…oh! F*** you!” Gotcha!

Apparently this photo yielded hours of conversation for he and his wife Nicki. They questioned whether or not it was Photoshopped. They looked up pictures of fish with ridiculous mouths as a way to come up with a new nickname for me. Nicki mentioned the scenario to her mom and they all agreed this was VERY unlike me and that they were shocked! Logan contemplated driving by me at the airport and circling around to proclaim, “Sorry, I didn’t recognize you!”

All along Logan keeps saying to Nicki that while he’ll resort to his known nature at some point and unleash holy hell on me by making fun of me for my bad decision, he wants to exercise restraint at first in an effort to be sensitive and test out the waters because I seem to be really upset about the situation. Aw, sweet guy – up until the moment that he would, indeed, have been an epic brat had the situation been real. I know him too well.

Bottom line, I’m pretty proud of this one! As was he. Sucker.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ma

     /  April 15, 2014

    Well done, my dear. Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

