The Ripple Effect

yeahI can’t believe it’s been almost two years since I moved out of my place with the ex-manfriend and embarked on the craziness that is my current life. It’s been a weird, but awesome, two years.

What got me thinking about all of this is getting ready to re-sign my lease at my little place for another year. That simple act got me reflecting on the ripple effect of the decision to move out and forward. A decision that led to…

  • a relationship that taught me a lot, which…
  • provided the platform for a second car accident, which…
  • has, in addition to my first accident, taught me a lot about my body, which…
  • got me interested in finding new ways to move my body, which…
  • led me to dancing, which…
  • took me out of my comfort zone and brought me endless joy and a new community full of some awesome friends, which…
  • opened me up to the idea of challenging myself in other ways (physically, emotionally, spiritually, etc.), which…
  • led me to church, which…
  • led me reconnect with an old friend after service one day, which…
  • led me to trying the 24 Day Challenge and pursuing the business side of AdvoCare, which…
  • led me into and new, awesome community and feeling empowered and confident in my body in a way that I’ve never experienced before, which…
  • led me to wanting to seek out even more challenging ways to live and stretch my comfort zone, which…
  • led me to CrossFit, which…
  • has put me solidly on the path of the most fit and healthy I’ve ever been – something I’ve dreamed of for many, many, many years.

Everything has a ripple effect. Everything leads to something else. The hardest things we do in life often lead to the most abundant life we could ever imagine.

All of that is to say: if that one decision hadn’t been made, I’d not be the person I am today. I wouldn’t know the people I know or be involved in some of the most amazing communities, which feel more like family, this area has to offer. While the past two years have been extremely difficult and frustrating in many ways, I wouldn’t change any of it.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. This is so true and if happens all the time without us even noticing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

