Confession Thursday

Confession Yes, a day late…

  1. Ever work with people who just can’t see the good in anything? Who always find the negativity and focus on that? Man, it’s so hard for me to keep my cool in those situations and not call them out on their crappy attitude. And it’s so hard to understand how they don’t get that critique and criticism is always best served with a healthy dose of praise, compliment, and gratitude.
  2. I’ve never considered myself a nag. Come to think of it, I’ve never been called one either. I was thinking about it this morning when it dawned on me why nagging doesn’t work. Rather than hearing the actual need of the nagger, the nagged is focused on the fact that they’re being nagged. Follow that? Seems to me that if you really want someone to do something or change a process/behavior, a constructive conversation where they don’t feel like they’re being treated like a child and devalued is likely the best approach.
  3. I’m headed to the beach next week and the only books I’m packing are all related to business and self improvement. Lame, you say? Here’s my perspective: I have limited time to read, so I should be putting something good and worthwhile that will better me and my life in my noggin.
  4. It’s possible there is no greater killer of motivation for me than a late Friday afternoon before a week-long vacation. My brain is utter mush at that point.
  5. I hate to fly. Not because I’m afraid the plane will fall out of the sky or anything like that. But because there’s a good chance that I’ll be a nanosecond away from vomiting on at least one, if not several, occasions during the flight. The conversation in my head for most of the flight is, “Don’t vomit. No need to do that. Nice deep breaths. Just keep it all in there.”
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

