My new favorite blog: The Pioneer Woman

Some of you may read this and think, “Duh! Where the hell have YOU been, Brokaw? The Pioneer Woman has been around for ages!” It’s true, she has. But I just recently became aware of her via the 2010 Bloggies. For those of you who don’t know what Bloggies are, they’re awards for the best blogs. And Ree Drummond, AKA The Pioneer Woman, won several (best writing, best design, and best blog of the year). Congrats to Ree!

I have a dream. And that dream is that one day I will make it in the blogosphere. Or is it on the blogosphere? Basically, I’d like to be getting a thousand hits+ a day consistently. I’m no where near that now. But it’s all about positive thinking, right? That and educating myself, following other successful bloggers to see what they do, providing consistent, valuable content, etc. My fear is that part of this will require that I learn how to take a proper photograph. Eek! But I really do feel like part of the process has to be promoting other women bloggers and hope the good juju and karma come back my way.

Last week I was home on a Thursday recuperating from a crazy week. I needed a personal day like I’ve never needed one before. I won’t go into the details here (lest my family never speak to me again), but let’s just say it was probably the worst week of my life. I hope it’s the worst week I ever have.

So there I sat on my couch trying to take my mind off things when I came across the Bloggies. When I read that The Pioneer Woman had won blog of the year, I had to check it out. I proceeded to check it out for the next five hours. Yes, five. I fell in love with her and her blog. She has a great, light, easy way of writing that makes her feel like a kindred soul. I believe in past lives. I believe I was on the Titanic. I believe I’ve been a rancher before. I believe that Ree Drummond’s life sounds idyllic and familiar to me. I believe that cowboys are hot as hell, just as she does. And I believe that someday I can make this blog thing really work for me.

What I like about Drummond’s blog is the variety. She blogs about their ranch, homeschooling her children, her home and garden, her love of photography, the crazy love story she and her husband (who she refers to as The Marlboro Man) share, and so on. She just feels accessible and real. Plus I would just about give my eyeteeth to spend some time with her cooking in The Lodge.

Photo by Ree Drummond

Looks fun, huh?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Mallory

     /  March 15, 2010

    I support your blogosphere dream. However doesn’t it creep you out to have strangers reading your dairy? I mean, people could get to I know you that your know nothing about, ehwww.

    Reply
    • Well, that’s why you have to be specific about what you share. But you’re right, it does have a creep factor to it. Part of the game, I guess.

      Reply
  2. Mallory

     /  March 15, 2010

    Maybe I am just jealous that you can spell

    Reply
  3. Piper

     /  April 22, 2010

    Ok, so I am addicted to your blog even though this is the first time I’m writing . . . Anyway, I was at work (this time demoing tea at Tattered Cover) and came across the Pioneer Woman’s Cookbook and thought about this blog you wrote. I’m sure you know all about her book, but if not I had to share! Its a wonderful book with some really cool recipes and pictures – check it out . . . if you don’t already own it :)

    Reply
  4. Hi Piper! Mallory shared with me that you’re a fan of my blog and I am deeply grateful for your addicted nature :) It means a lot that you come and read on a regular basis. As for The Pioneer Woman Cooks, I am aware of the cookbook, but I don’t own it…yet. I’ll likely get a copy here soon. Thanks for the recommendation. Hope you and your ladies are doing well!

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • About Me

    My mother is an encyclopedia of useless information (sorry, ma, but it's true) - no one can beat her at Trivial Pursuit. As I age, I become more like dear old mom everyday. I routinely tell people about resources, recipes, tips, tricks, or websites I've heard about, tried, live by, etc. until one of my clients urged me to start a blog. So here it is! My perpetual ramblings. I hope you find them useful and amusing. If you don't, you can either keep it to yourself or leave me a well constructed critique.

    I'm a former massage therapist, a freelance journalist, and a web information architect and UX designer. I enjoy yoga, the Bar Method, camping, reading, gardening, and spending time with my friends and loved ones. I live in Colorado.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,096 other subscribers
  • Infrequent tweets

  • I pin!

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Archive

  • Tag Cloud

    #reverb10 #Reverb11 #Reverb12 accident AdvoCare Bar Method books Camping Church comfortable CrossFit Dancing design Dooce Dream Home Etsy exercise Family fashion food Friends garden Gifts gluten-free handmade home How to's Illness immunity inspiration Jewelry kids Life movies music Opinion Products Random rant recipes Reviews Service services shoes shopping Stella style Vacation Website Wellness
  • Top Posts